Dashboard Cover Arrival, Wash, Trunk Organization, and Minor Maintenance and Milestone

After waiting what seemed like a month, my highly anticipated dashboard cover finally arrived last Tuesday. Unfortunately, I was unable to install the package until the following morning due to a very busy afternoon before. I apologize for the lack of updates before now; this past week has been super busy with our student council trying to prepare for the upcoming school year that actually starts August 1st, two days after this is published. The Majority of my time this past week has been dedicated to Student Council including my weekend.

DSC_0001

DSC_0002
A welcome improvement from the horrible cracking of the original dashboard.

Wednesday and Thursday we had workdays to assist teachers from 9-2 and that just takes all the energy out of me and makes me want to be lazy the rest of the day. Friday was a much longer workday 10 AM to about 10PM due to a dance put together for incoming freshman and then my weekend was eaten up by the state executive board meeting in Murfreesboro from Midday Saturday to Noon on Sunday.

Fortunately I did have the day off work today, so I figured it would be a perfectly good time to get the TL ready to head back to school on Wednesday.

DSC_0007DSC_0004

I also decided since I was at the school the majority of the week last week that I would go ahead and purchase my parking pass for this upcoming school year and ensure that I got the highly coveted parking pass #1. While our high school doesn’t have assigned parking spots. We do have the option to purchase one of the limited “painted parking spots” that are for sale on one side of our building. These parking spots not only allow the lucky buyers to be able to avoid traffic, but they also provide the chance to avoid fighting for an unassigned parking spot every morning which can get kind of tedious.

Being on Student Council has its perks, one being able to buy the first parking passes before the rest of the student body, and the other being able to purchased a painted parking spot before everyone else as well.

Last year I was able to purchase a parking spot that had been painted by an outgoing senior with the “Tennessee Flag” painted on it. While the spot did need some touching up I added my own touch to it by putting my initials on the spot as well. This spot is kind of a commodity at our school because not only is it one of the coolest designs; but it’s also right in view of a camera (student drivers), and this spot was one of the original painted parking spots when the project was instated 3 years ago.

img_1957.jpg

While the stars are disproportionate to the rest of the spot and I did have to touch up the spot last year with a new coat of paint, I was however able to get the spot numbered as spot 19 which coincides with my graduation year. Overall I’m still happy with this spot and honestly don’t want to go through the trouble of repainting this year as it was a hassle last year and my car stays on top of it the remainder of the time anyway.

On a completely unrelated note, my trunk has been a mess lately, I decided that while I was washing my car today I might as well just clean out the trunk while I’m at it. I went to work removing unnecessary items, and organizing things that do need to remain in there with the nifty cargo net.

DSC_0004

 

I also realized that I just passed the date of a needed oil change, last one done at 126,895 and since I hit 132,000 miles today I made time to schedule an appointment.

IMG-3334

While I should be going to the Acura dealership as I normally would, I didn’t have the time today to drive the 45 minutes to my nearest dealer (Gary Force Acura of Coolsprings) so I settled for servicing at Firestone of Mount Juliet. I’ve learned that for minor maintenance such as oil changes and simple tire rotation and balancing it’s not a bad alternative when I don’t necessarily want to drive out to Coolsprings.

Overall I would say the visit went relatively well, other than the fact that my battery may need to be replaced soon, I’m pleased to report that no issues turned up during the service.Ā DSC_0005

Hope everyone is having a fantastic end to a great summer!

 

4 thoughts on “Dashboard Cover Arrival, Wash, Trunk Organization, and Minor Maintenance and Milestone

  1. Dash mat looks good. In high school, I didn’t have an assigned space but I would always arrive early enough to park at one of the most primo spots on campus – right along the road for each exit, toward the front. Somewhere in my photo albums I have a pic of my 1989 Prelude Si there. Somehow my car even made it into the yearbook. Nice updates on the TL and sounds like you are keeping very busy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The painted parking spots are a genius idea. I totally would have sprung for one if my high school had them. Does the money for the spots go to pay for programming at your school? Also, where is the photo of the TL on the parking spot? (Ahem!)

    New dash cover looks nice, and the car shone up nicely from the washing you gave it. Still waiting for a full tour of the car in an upcoming post, sir. šŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Because the student council technically uses it as a fundraiser of sorts and it doesn’t really cost any thing to them, essentially the student council solely profits off of the parking spot, I initially paid $40 for the spot last year and then this year I have to pay $15 in order to renew and maintain the spot. Basically all that money goes to offset various costs our council has since we do TONS of projects for the school that we don’t necessarily profit off of. I’ll definitely have to update the post tomorrow with a photo of the TL and the space when I’m at the school. I will definitely have make time for that, hopefully I can do that sometime this week. šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment